h1

Bookworm

October 7, 2009

I saw this on Sparkle and Glitter’s blog the other day. It looked interesting and I love to read so I figured I’d fill it out. πŸ˜€

Do you snack while you read? If so, favourite reading snack? Only if I’m hungry. But generally I don’t snack because it’s just uncomfortable to eat and hold a book at the same time.

Do you tend to mark your books as you read them, or does the idea of writing on your books horrify you? God, no! I hate to write in my books. It took me a while to even get used to writing in my textbooks. lol I don’t even fold pages down to bookmark them.

How do you keep your place while reading a book? Bookmark? Dog ears? Leaving the book open flat? I used to use regular bookmarks but they falling out and I’d lose them. :/ So I started to use post-it notes because they stick and I always have them on hand anyway.

Fiction, Non-Fiction or both? Fiction usually. I’ll only read non-fiction if it’s something that really interests me.

Are you a person who tends to read to the end of chapters, or are you able to put a book down at any point? It depends. I can stop anywhere but if I can I’d prefer to at least read to the end of a chapter before stopping.

If you come across an unfamiliar word, do you stop to look it up right away? If I can’t determine the meaning from the context I will stop to look it up if possible. But generally it’s not necessary.

What are you currently reading?
A Jill Kismet Novel: Redemption Alley by Lilith Saintcrow. I read her previous series, The Dante Valentine Series and I loved it and this new series is great as well. This is the third book in this series.

What is the last book you bought? The above book. πŸ˜€ I’ve been buying about buying books in the past while I still have books to read so I’ve been cutting back.

Are you the type of person who can only read one book at a time or can you read more than one at a time? I can read more than one book at a time, they just can’t be too similar so I don’t get confused. lol So if I do it I try to read books from different genres.

Do you prefer series or stand alone books? I read either but looking at my bookshelf I do notice that I read a lot of series. πŸ˜€

Is there a specific book or author that you find yourself recommending over and over? I love Nora Roberts and Laurell K. Hamilton. I’ve actually turned both my sister onto them as well as some friends.

How do you organize your books? (By genre, title, author’s last name, etc.?) There’s not too much of a system going on. I just have each author grouped together but nothing alphabetized or anything. And my series books are grouped in order, but that’s it.

7 comments

  1. This was a great read (and I have a few new authors to check out, thanks!). I think I’ll have a go at this too…


  2. oh my..this must be hard for me to answer since I don’t love to read books.. I don’t even read books..lol.. just rarely..:D

    take care
    xoxo, MIMING


  3. If I was into books, i’d definitely answer the same questions you have there πŸ™‚ But while I was reading the questions being asked, I started to examine myself how I really am when it comes to reading. Haha.

    I get pretty OC when it comes to writing on books so definitely I just use a bookmark to keep in mind what page I stopped. I also don’t like eating while riding coz for some reason that takes my focus out of the book? Hahaha. I know, I know, weird πŸ˜›


  4. What a cool survey! I might have to take this one. And it took me FOREVER to finally write in my school books. I got used to it, but it still seems weird.


  5. Hah, I love this – such a book lover’s set of questions [and answers!]… one of my closest friends really, really hates to read. The only book he can ever remember reading for pleasure is Harry Potter. I can’t even imagine it! xx


  6. What a cool questionnaire.

    You’re a tidy book person. I have to admit to loving my books, but thinking they are there to be loved, so I am guilty of folding down corners, dropping them in the bath and all sorts of terrible things.

    However, if I do it, it’s ok, if I LEND you a book and it comes back with folded corners then that is NOT ok!


  7. Thanks for the comment! As a booklover myself I had to do a post like this myself!
    πŸ™‚



Leave a Reply

