h1

Book Challenges

May 2, 2010

Looking back I’ve realized that I have been slacking on my reading a lot lately. I haven’t been reading nearly as much as I used to and I’m feeling like I’m missing out on so much because of this. I used to read a new book every week. Now I’ll read a new book once a month if that often. I’m on a mission to start reading more this year, finding new authors and branching out from my normal genres. In order to do this I got an idea from English Major’s Junk Food and I’ve decided to join some Book Challenges. I’ve found a few through the above site to join right now and I may join more as I find more.

The first challenge is the Jane Austen challenge. I’ve always wanted to read more of Austen outside of school and this is the perfect way to do this. The point of this challenge is not only to read Austen books but to also read books that are considered spoofs, sequels, or rewrites of her books. There are different levels that can be achieved to complete this challenge.

*Newbie 2 books by J. Austen, 2 re-writes, prequels, sequels, or spoofs (by other authors)
**Lover 4 books by J. Austen, 4 re-writes, prequels, sequels, or spoofs (by other authors)
** Fanatic 6+ books by J. Austen, 5+ re-writes, prequels, sequels, or spoofs (by other authors)

I will be striving for the highest level of Fanatic, but I definitely plan to at least complete the minimum of the challenge which would be Newbie. The challenge ends at the end of the year.

18th and 19th cent writers

This challenge is actually probably the easiest. I hope. Basically it’s a challenge to read at least two book from female authors from the 18th and 19th century. I’ll try for more books but 2 is the minimum to finish the challenge. We’ll see how many I can make before the end of the year when the challenge ends.

historical fiction

This challenge is to read historical fictions books as possible. There are four possible levels to achieve.

Curious – Read 3 Historical Fiction novels.
Fascinated – Read 6 Historical Fiction novels.
Addicted – Read 12 Historical Fiction novels.
Obsessed – Read 20 Historical Fiction novels.

I doubt that I’ll be able to reach Obsessed but I’ll be trying for Addicted at the least

In this final challenge, I will have to read as many books as possible that were referenced or mentioned on The Gilmore Girls show. I love this show to death and I caught a lot of the references that were made but also missed a lot because I wasn’t familiar with the literature. The show was so smart and witty. 😀 Anyway, there are different levels that can be achieved and I plan to make it the Rory level.

Emily: Read 5 books from at least two different categories.
Lorelai: Read 10 books from at least three different categories.
Rory: Read 20 books from at least four different categories.

There are a total of five different categories to choose from and sooo many books to choose from. I’m really looking forward to this challenge the most I think.

Anyway, over all I think that this is going to be pretty exciting for me. 😀 I like that for most of these audio books and even movies do count which will help. Plus a lot of the books crossover and can count for multiple challenges which is great. Wish me luck!

[Edit]

fantasy challenge

I joined a new challenge! 😀 It’s a fantasy challenge that includes any type of Fantasy, like Historical Fantasy, Science Fiction Fantasy, etc. Since I read this genre so much I won’t feel guilty reading it through out the year while doing the other challenges.

Curious – Read 3 Fantasy Fiction novels.
Fascinated – Read 6 Fantasy Fiction novels.
Addicted – Read 12 Fantasy Fiction novels.
Obsessed – Read 20 Fantasy Fiction novels.

I would not be surprised if I reached Obsessed really.

One comment

  1. I love Austen AND Gilmore Girls, so this is an AWESOME challenge!! I’m about to go on a college library run so might actually look up some relevant time-period/referenced authors in advance now… ^^ Thanks for this, and for your lovely comments 🙂 xx



Leave a Reply

