h1

WWW Wednesday

October 19, 2011

WWW Wednesday is hosted by Should Be Reading. All you have to do is answer three questions.

• What are you currently reading?
• What did you recently finish reading?
• What do you think you’ll read next?

What are you currently reading?
I’m actually am between books right now, but I plan to start reading New Amsterdam by Elizabeth Bear. It’s actually a collection of short stories about Abigail Irene Garrett, a forensic sorceress, and Sebastien de Ulloa, a famous sleuth and vampire. I’ve recently become interested in the steampunk genre and now I’m officially obsessed. This is just the latest in a line of steampunk books that I’m devouring.

What did you recently finish reading?
I just finished reading The Steampunk Detective by Darrell Pitt. As is obvious, this was another steampunk book that I read. I really liked this one. It was very similar to Sherlock Holmes in that this duo solves crimes using the powers of deduction. However the assistant is a teenager that used to be from a family of acrobats. I hope the author plans to write more books in this universe, it’s definitely something I’d be interested in.

What do you think you’ll read next?
In wrapping up this weeks steampunk theme, I’ll be reading Writing Steampunk by Beth Daniels. This is actually in preparation for next month! Since I plan to participate in NaNoWriMo again, I wanted to do some research in advance. Since I’ve been obsessed with steampunk lately, I figure the best way to stay interested in what I’m writing it just to stick with what I like. So the plan for the moment, which is of course liable to change any second now, is to write a steampunk novel this year. So hopefully this book will get me in the mood for that. It’s supposed to have a really good historical context and some prompts for writing. Perfect!

What are you guys reading this week?

One comment

  1. I love your book posts – they always inspire me to crack out some fiction!! 🙂 xx



Leave a Reply

