h1

Top Ten Tuesday: Top Ten Books I’m Excited To Read in 2012

January 3, 2012


‘Top Ten Tuesday’ is a weekly meme hosted by The Broke and the Bookish.
This week’s theme is ‘Top Ten Books I’m Excited To Read in 2012’. I get to list the books that I’m looking forward to reading this year. There seem to be a lot of good books coming out this year and I can’t wait to get to read them.

1. The Nightmare Garden by Caitlin Kittredge – This is the sequel to ‘The Iron Thorn’, which was a really great read last year. It’s a combination steampunk, fantasy, dystopian, young-adult novel. I’ve recently been turned on to steampunk and dystopian novels, which seems to be the current trend. 🙂 (I’m such a follower.)

2. The Girl in the Clockwork Collar by Kady Cross – Yet another steampunk sequel. I loved the first book in this series, I think this may be the series that sealed by love of this genre. May is way too far away.

3. The Wood Queen by Karen Mahoney – This is the sequel to ‘The Iron Queen’ which was a really good if short book. I hope this one is longer. This seems like it may be a great fantasy series.

4. Bitterblue by Kristin Cashore – The ‘Graceling’ series was a serious favorite of mine last year and I’ve been waiting for this book for a long, long time. I’ve loved the main characters of this series so much and I don’t think this book will disappoint me.

5. The Unseen Guest by Maryrose Wood – Is the third in a children’s series, but it’s so much fun! I found a review that describes the series perfectly, it’s ‘Sound of Music’ meets ‘The Series of Unfortunate Events’. It’s a funny read with some adorable characters.

6. Scarlet by A.C. Gaughen – I’ve always loved Robin Hood, I think I’ve watched pretty much every movie or tv version that tells his story. This book talks about a possible love interest for him, not Maid Marien, but Scarlet, the main character. It looks to be a fun read for this year.

7. Dark Frost by Jennifer Estep – This is the third in the Mythos Academy series which I’m loving right now. I love anything to do with mythology so this series is right up my alley. 🙂

8. 1Q84 by Haruki Murakami – I’ve been seeing a lot of this book online, especially on Goodreads. It’s grabbed my interest for sure. It’s not a new book, but I definitely plan to read this book before the year is out.

9. The Name of the Star by Maureen Johnson – Jack the Ripper. Need I say more? I love Maureen Johnson anyway, so this is definitely a must read for this year.

10. Ashfall by Mike Mullin – This is a post-apocalyptic novel about the aftermath of the explosion of a supervolcano in Yellowstone National Park. The main character is a teenage boy left alone for the weekend when the volcano erupts. He goes across the United States to find his family.

4 comments

  1. Great list. I can’t wait to read Girl in the Clockwork collar too.

    http://kristina-worldofbooks.blogspot.com/2012/01/top-10-tuesdays-5.html


  2. I’ll be reading IQ84 this year too, if it ever comes into my library! I’ll be interested to see how The Girl in the Clockwork Collar is too


  3. So many great sounding books! I had to add the first two series to my Goodreads TBR shelf – great list!

    Top 10 Tuesday

    Kelly
    Radiant Shadows


  4. Great list. I still haven’t gotten Name the Star off from my TBR. I hope to get to it soon.

    -FABR Steph@FiveAlarmBookReviews
    My Top Ten…



Leave a Reply

