h1

Way Back Wednesday

January 4, 2012

Way Back Wednesday is hopefully going to be a new segment here in which I blog about shows, movies, toys, books, from when I was younger. This means topics from the 80’s and 90’s. 🙂 Let me know what you think. I hope you enjoy!


Credited to weheartit

This first week we’ll cover my favorite show from when I was a little girl. Jem and the Holograms. I watched this show all the time. The entire season was just recently released on dvd.

Here is the summary from Retro Junk:

The show centers on Jem who is an upcoming rock star with her band The Holograms. Jem is also the alias of Jerrica Benton, the daughter of a music executive who after his death, should rightfully be in charge of the company Starlight music. Jem/Jerrica’s rival is the sneaky and evil Eric Raymond who is trying to control Starlight music and get Jerrica out of the picture. Eric creates a band called the Misfits who are supposedly rebellious rockers. With the help of a secret computer/hologram machine named synergy created by Jerrica’s father, Jerrica and her sister Kimber and their friends create Jem and the holograms to compete in popularity at the same music label. Of course, no one but the girls are in on all of this. Also in play is a never-resolved love story of Jerrica and her boyfriend Rio who just happens to be with Jem at the same time, but has no idea its the same girl. Jerrica has the ability to transform to Jem and back again through her magic earrings. Throughout the show the girls encounter many a sabotage plan, heartbreak and of course impossible dangers followed by even more impossible rescues. But it still remains one of the best 80’s cartoons ever!


Credited to weheartit

I wanted to be in the Holograms when I was little! So did all of my friends. Their songs were catchy and fun, and their clothes and makeup were ‘outrageous’. I loved Rio back then. (Of course, looking back it is annoying that he couldn’t choose between Jem and Jerrica. Especially since he didn’t know they were the same person. And Jerrica didn’t help either by trying to get together with him as both people.) However, the show was still great. It was improbable but so much fun! I was so disappointed when the show ended.


Credited to weheartit

Jem and the Holograms show had tons of merchandise out there. This included an entire line of dolls, playsets, books, games, and more. And I wanted it all. 🙂 Luckily, Jem is back on tv on the Hub. So now, if you don’t want to buy the show on dvd you can still watch it on Saturdays. Did you guys watch this show? Do you watch it now?

I hope you enjoyed this post for Way Back Wednesday. If this becomes a regular feature here, I’d love to know if there is anything that you’d like to see me feature. (Well, as long as it’s something that I can recall from the 80’s and 90’s. lol)

2 comments

  1. Truly outrageous! Omg I loved Jem! I was just a little tot but I do remember I wanted to be her.


  2. HAPPY NEW YEAR!! Aaaah I LOVED Rainbow Brite! Thanks for the super-colourful memories!! 🙂 xxx



Leave a Reply

